There’s a lot to be said for going to work and just quietly getting on with things. *WEG*

Today I booked on and went to pick up my train as usual. Things were running really late (again) and I watched several trains come and go with other drivers on them. After a bit one of the drivers I’d left behind at the depot came along and took the next train. Now if he started work after me but has picked up before me then we are back to that question again. You know the one.

I phoned the DMT who sussed that my train had been cancelled and nobody had remembered to tell me. This is not all that unusual and it’s something I find a tad annoying. If they are cancelling a train then the least they could do is tell the driver who is due to pick it up. Yet they constantly forget and leave the driver hanging around on the platform humming that song. It’s not even as though we are difficult to contact. We have (apparently) the largest private telephone network in Europe and there are phones on every platform.

The DMT enquired of The Voices if they wanted me to head to the other end of the line to be in position for my next train. “Yeah, whatever” came the inspiring reply. So I got on the next train heading that way and arrived just on time to pick up my second train. Which didn’t arrive…Being the helpful sort I figured that it was best not to make a fuss or bother people with my existence and I decided to just sit quietly until somebody came to sort me out. At this stage, you can imagine me as an abandoned puppy sitting in the rain if it helps. I endeavoured to create team harmony by waving to the other drivers as they passed through. Several times. An hour or so later nobody had remembered me and I had run out of newspapers to read. Fortunately the DMT at that end of the line suddenly became aware of my sitting around. I’m not sure why he didn’t before as I’d been answering the phone every time he called our little room looking for a driver. A few frantic calls later and he told me what had happened. The Voices thought for some reason that I hadn’t booked on and had just got on with cancelling my trains without checking with any DMTs. They were all set to cancel my third train when the second DMT advised them that I was not only available to drive but was now thoroughly educated in current affairs.

A very short period of driving later and it was time for a meal break. Happily a very looooong meal break on this duty. Yes, there’s a lot to be said for sitting quietly and bothering nobody.

