Seriously.

I did this test as I was reading a forum thread about something tangentially related. Actually it was about somebody in America trying to get free healthcare for mental health issues. And the doctor diagnosed her as an alcoholic. It is quite a scary concept.

Anyway, out of idle curiosity I had a look at the 12step questionnaire. And it turns out rather more seriously than I expected. I answered yes to three questions so that means I’m a full-on alcoholic. Here is the scoring:

What’s your score?

If you have answered YES to any one of the questions, there is a definite warning that you may be an alcoholic.

If you have answered YES to any two, the chances are that you are an alcoholic.

If you answered YES to three or more, you are definitely an alcoholic.

(The test questions are used at Johns Hopkins University Hospital, Baltimore, MD, in deciding whether or not a patient is an alcoholic).

So there we go. I guess I better inform somebody at work that I’m an alcoholic and could fall off the wagon at any time. OK, I know I nearly fell off a train once but I didn’t think I was that bad.

*sigh*

Better go look for a new job I guess.

