Tags

,

was running some interviews so I volunteered. Here are the questions he came up with. (I’m supposed to interview others now but I can’t be bothered!).

1. Were you one of those kids who wanted to be a train driver when they grew up? If not, what did you want to be?

It never even occurred to me to want to drive trains. As a very small child I wanted to be a vet. Poor guidance at secondary school and my slight dyscalculia meant I couldn’t progress in the sciences which put an end to that. I tried various other options before ending up working on the trains almost by accident. It’s by far the best job I’ve had – I’m in charge of my day and have peace and quiet to daydream for most of it. Plus of course I get to engage in my favourite activity of puzzle-solving whenever they break down.

I think one of the key things that helped me become a driver was that I was fairly clueless to start with. I had no clue about the job and thus no preconceptions. So it seemed like an interesting job but I didn’t have the hangups that most people seem to about how difficult it is. The training *was* hard but because I didn’t know about the high rate of failure it never really occurred to me that I’d not be able to do it. Ignorance is often bliss and not knowing that something is horrendously difficult makes it so much easier. πŸ™‚

2. What is your favourite art form, i.e. books/music/sculpture/painting etc, and why?

That would be books. I’ve been a bookworm since I first learnt to read. In part because my synaesthesia makes it a very rewarding activity. And also because of the escapism. Books provide me access to places and experiences that I’ll never be able to have.

Other favourites are music – again for the synaesthesia although I’m not actually musical – and photography. I don’t yet know much about the technical aspects (learning!) but I do seem to have some talent in seeing shots and setting them up right. That’s something I want to progress.

3. What is your favourite place in the world?

I don’t think I have one. I tend to find something nice about whichever place I find myself in.

4. What brought you to LJ, and what is your first entry about?

I started out doing an image blog but quickly realised that I love to write more than I like to make image-stories. I switched to writing as an experiment to see if I could manage to find something interesting to say about the job. When I joined the other drivers told me so many interesting, funny or just plain weird stories. Over time I discovered that they weren’t just stories and that interesting, funny or weird things are a way of life on the tube.

5. If it was your birthday tomorrow, and I was going to buy you a present, what would you like me to buy you?

I’m not much of a one for big presents. I love stripey socks. And I’d kill for one of those gizmos that weigh your luggage as you hold it. Or maybe a decent pair of Tevas.

