Tags

,

As I was changing ends today I came across this little guy taking a stroll across the platform:

Isn’t he the prettiest thing?

Of course, I had no clue what he was but thankfully enquiries to Twitter revealed that he is a Shield Bug. I’ve done a little reading this evening and specifically he is a Juniper Shield Bug or Cyphostethus tristriatus. That’s quite a mouthful for such a tiny insect!

I don’t think I’ve ever come across one before but it seems they are reasonably common in the south of England. Largely because gardeners are quite keen on their favourite plants: juniper and cypress. I’m not sure exactly what he was doing on my platform but there are a lot of suburban gardens nearby so perhaps he stopped to warm his wings in the sun before heading off to do whatever it is that Shield Bugs do.

