Tags

,

You know when you think you know something and then you suddenly look at it in a new light? That just happened to me with The Moody Blues.

A car went belting past with the stereo blaring. It was ‘Nights in White Satin’. Or was it? Was it perhaps ‘Knights in White Satin’?

I’ve always assumed it was ‘nights’ but I realised I didn’t definitely know. So I thought about the lyric. And…well, it could go either way. Of course, a quick google tells me the answer but where’s the fun in that? It’s sometimes much better to work out something from each perspective and try to find a balance in the middle. That’s something I learned from an English lecture on the roots of tlanguage. Or was it the routes of language? Anyway, Try seeing it from the ‘knight’ perspective. I think it works. πŸ™‚

Knights in white satin,
Never reaching the end,
Letters I’ve written,
Never meaning to send.

Beauty I’d always missed
With these eyes before,
Just what the truth is
I can’t say anymore.

‘Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.

Gazing at people,
Some hand in hand,
Just what I’m going thru
They can understand.

Some try to tell me
Thoughts they cannot defend,
Just what you want to be
You will be in the end,

And I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

Knights in white satin,
Never reaching the end,
Letters I’ve written,
Never meaning to send.

Beauty I’d always missed
With these eyes before,
Just what the truth is
I can’t say anymore.

‘Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

‘Cause I love you,
Yes, I love you,
Oh, how, I love you.
Oh, how, I love you.

